Get your ITIL Foundation certification by studying online. Grab a bargain by buying an online ITIL Foundation course now.



To keep up with the world of digital transformation, ITIL has gone through many updates over the years. The most recent update in 2019 was ITIL 4.

ITIL4 offers organisations a more inclusive guidance for IT management. ITIL 4 is essential for the fast-paced business needs of our dynamic world. ITIL 4 has evolved to adopt and adapt modern technologies and ways of working.

What’s the difference between ITIL v4 and v3

ITIL v3 was about how to manage the service lifecycle from start to finish. ITIL 4 has redesigned ITIL v3 and it differs in several ways:

  1. ITIL guiding principles are now the core of ITIL 4;
  2. ITIL v3 processes are now known as ITIL practices;
  3. There are 2 new components in the ITIL v4 framework:
    • The ITIL service value system (SVS) – used to demonstrate how organisational events can create value;
    • The four dimensions model – used to shape value into products and services for customers and stakeholders;
  4. ITIL 4 incorporates elements from well-known approaches such as DevOps, Agile and Lean.

ITIL 4 training

Enrolling in a classroom course or an online ITIL 4 course is the best way to gain an understanding of ITIL. These courses will help you achieve ITIL certification. You must start with the Foundation training and certification.

ITIL 4 certification path

In ITIL 4, there are four certification levels:

1. ITIL 4 Foundation

The ITIL 4 Foundation qualification is the entry-level of ITIL. It is the prerequisite for all other ITIL 4 levels. There are no prerequisites for this certification.

ITIL v4 Foundation offers an introduction and overview to the ITIL 4 service management framework.

When you pass the exam, you can choose to follow one of two routes on your ITIL journey. You can take either the Managing Professional, or the Strategic Leader routes.

2. ITIL Managing Professional (MP)

In this level, professionals learn how to run successful IT enabled services, teams and workflows.

3. ITIL Strategic Leader (SL)

In this level, professionals learn how IT influences and directs business strategy.

4. ITIL Master

Master level will be awarded if you complete both MP and SL certifications. Additionally, you need to prove your IT service management experience and a deep knowledge of ITIL.

ITIL v4 exams

AXELOS has announced launch dates for ITIL v4 examinations as follows:

Qualification Date
ITIL 4 Foundation Q1 2019
Managing Professional, Strategic Leader Q2 2019
ITIL 4 Master Q3 or Q4 2019

AXELOS has designed an ITIL Managing Professional Transition Module. It is designed for ITIL v3 candidates who are ITIL Experts. Candidates who have achieved 17 credits from across the v3 scheme are included too.

Why you should study ITIL v4

If you already passed the ITIL v3 Foundation exam and you want to stay up to date with ITIL v4, it is recommended that you study for the ITIL 4 Foundation exam. There is no transition module, as the content of ITIL 4 is substantially different than ITIL v3.

Staying up to date by getting ITIL 4 Foundation certification is a necessary step to maintaining your IT Service Management career.

This site uses cookies to enhance your user experience. Please read our cookie policy for more information

I understand