Up to £1,000+VAT OFF PRINCE2 weekday courses. Limited seats. Offer ends Wednesday!Course details

Change management models and techniques

Change Management Foundation course

Change management models and techniques

There are many popular change management models, frameworks and techniques that you can use as a change manager. This article covers just some of them. Some of them can work on an organisational level, whilst some only work for individuals.

You can learn about most of these models in detail on a Change Management Foundation course.

Change management models

Kurt Lewin’s three stage model

Lewin’s model is a simple one. You can use it on change projects which have both small and large groups of stakeholders. Read more details about Lewin’s model with infographic here.

John Kotter’s eight step model

Kotter’s 8-step model is suitable for large change initiatives in complex organisations. Read more details about Kotter’s model with infographic here.

Peter Senge’s biological metaphors

Peter Senge talks about profound change in organisations using biological and ecological metaphors. Read more details about Senge’s model with infographic here.

The Satir change management model

Virginia Satir was an author and therapist. Her model helped people improve their lives by transforming the way they see and express themselves. For individual change initiatives in organisations, Satir’s model helps in that regards.

  • Late Status Quo;
  • Resistance;
  • Chaos;
  • Integration;
  • New Status Quo.

These steps are like the natural process of a human being’s coping with death and bereavement:

  • You receive the bad news;
  • You are in shock and denial, so you resist the truth;
  • You grieve and go through depression. There is no stability;
  • You accept the reality and adapt to it;
  • You make changes and start a new life.

The ADKAR® model

Jeff Hiatt is an entrepreneur who created the ADKAR® model. This resulted from his research into business process restructuring. He believed that the key for successful change was the human factor.

A company called Prosci® has adopted Hiatt’s model. It helps with the application of this technique in organisations. (Prosci® and ADKAR® are registered trademarks of Procsi Inc.)

The stages for the ADKAR® model are:

  • Awareness of the need to change;
  • Desire to participate in and support the change;
  • Knowledge of how to change;
  • Ability to implement the change;
  • Reinforcement to sustain the change.

This model targets individuals during the change process.

Change management techniques

There are numerous change management techniques you can use during the change process. The McKinsey 7-S model is one.

The McKinsey 7-S model

This model is used for many purposes in businesses. As well as being a good technique for gap analysis, it can be used for initiating change since it:

  • Looks at 7 internal factors in the organisation;
  • Identifies the areas that need change;
  • Aligns the results with the factors.

The seven factors are:

Tangible factors (Hard Ss):

1. Strategy;

2. Structure;

3. Systems.

Intangible factors (Soft Ss):

4. Shared values;

5. Skills;

6. Staff;

7. Style.

You apply this model by:

  • Identifying the problems in the organisation;
  • Determining the desired (future) situation;
  • Deciding the actions to move from the current to the desired situation;
  • Implementing the action plans;
  • Reviewing the 7 factors on a continuous basis.

This site uses cookies to enhance your user experience. Please read our cookie policy for more information

I understand